The Complete List of Spiel Des Jahres Award Winners


MeoplesMagazine / Flickr / CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

The Spiel des Jahres is Germany's Family Game of the Year award and the most prestigious award a board game can win. If a game wins the SdJ, you can bet that it will be fun to play with plenty of strategies to interest adults and rules simple enough for children 10 and older.

Here's a complete list of the board games which have won the Spiel des Jahres game award and the individuals who designed those games.


  • 2019: Just One (designed by Ludovic Roudy and Bruno Sautter, published by Repos Production)
  • 2018: Blue (Michael Kiesling)
  • 2017: Kingdomino (Bruno Cathala)
  • 2016: Secret Code (Vladimír Chvátil)
  • 2015: Colt Express (Christophe Raimbault)
  • 2014: Camel Up (designed by Steffen Bogen)
  • 2013: Hanabi (designed by Antoine Bauza, published by Asmodée)
  • 2012: Kingdom Builder (designed by Donald X. Vaccarino, published by Queen Games)
  • 2011: Qwirkle (designed by Susan McKinley Ross, published by MindWare and Schmidt Spiele)
  • 2010: Dixit (designed by Jean-Louis Roubira, published by Asmodée Editions)
  • 2009: Dominion (designed by Donald X. Vaccarino, published by Rio Grande Games)
  • 2008: Keltis (designed by Reiner Knizia)
  • 2007: Zooloretto (designed by Michael Schacht)
  • 2006: Thurn and Taxis (designed by Karen and Andreas Seyfarth)
  • 2005: Niagara (designed by Thomas Liesching)
  • 2004: Ticket to Ride (designed by Alan R. Moon)
  • 2003: Alhambra (designed by Dirk Henn)
  • 2002: Villa Paletti (designed by Bill Payne)
  • 2001: Carcassonne (designed by Klaus-Jürgen Wrede)
  • 2000: Torres (designed by Wolfgang Kramer and Michael Kiesling)
  • 1999: Tikal (designed by Michael Kiesling and Wolfgang Kramer)
  • 1998: Elfenland (designed by Alan R. Moon)
  • 1997: Mississippi Queen (designed by Werner Hodel)
  • 1996: El Grande (designed by Wolfgang Kramer and Richard Ulrich)
  • 1995: The Settlers of Catan (designed by Klaus Teuber)
  • 1994: Manhattan (designed by Andreas Seyfarth)
  • 1993: Call My Bluff / Liar's Dice (designed by Richard Borg)
  • 1992: Um Reifenbreite (designed by Rob Bontenbal)
  • 1991: Drunter und Druber (designed by Klaus Teuber)
  • 1990: Adel Verpflichtet / Hoity Toity (designed by Klaus Teuber)
  • 1989: Cafe International (designed by Rudi Hoffmann)
  • 1988: Barbarossa (designed by Klaus Teuber)
  • 1987: Auf Achse (designed by Wolfgang Kramer)
  • 1986: Heimlich & Co. / Top Secret Spies (designed by Wolfgang Kramer)
  • 1985: Sherlock Holmes Consulting Detective (designed by Raymond Edwards, Suzanne Goldberg, and Gary Grady)
  • 1984: Railway Rivals (designed by David Watts)
  • 1983: Scotland Yard (designed by Werner Schlegel, Dorothy Garrels, Fritz Ifland, Manfred Burggraf, Werner Scheerer, and Wolf Hoermann)
  • 1982: Enchanted Forest (designed by Alex Randolph and Michel Matschoss)
  • 1981: Focus (designed by Sid Sackson)
  • 1980: Rummikub (designed by Ephraim Hertzano)
  • 1979: Hare and Tortoise (designed by David Parlett)